A Boy Like Japan

For years,

I wanted nothing more

Than to live in a land called Japan

 

Where kombinis sell lunch,

And vending machines are friends at every corner.

 

I learned the language

That would get me there

And plotted ways across the ocean;

 

Arrival was a sweetness I could taste,

Even with nothing more than a skeleton recipe before me.

 

I could not imagine

Wanting something more

Than I wanted to be where the sun rose.

 

And then I met you.

 

And learned what it was like to want a boy

Like Japan.

Leave a Reply

