the world without You

I don’t often remember my dreams –

Except that I was falling,

Or I was running.

 

But You gave me nightmares

I remember.

 

They hadn’t seen you for days

When you should have been at work

And for some reason,

They picked me to go to your apartment

And I found you swinging

(I found you like I wanted to be all the time)

And I didn’t look up

Just saw your stiff hand

And whispered your name,

Sure it was a sick joke;

And then

I looked up,

And there was your beautiful

Untouchable face

But purple and bulging and gone

 

And in my dreams,

I learned

the world without You

and woke up

Leave a Reply

